September 18 update: clarified the comparison method and added a buyer verification worksheet. Evergreen pricing was last refreshed September 6, 2026. Competitor details retain the source dates below, including January 2026 pricing; they were not reverified in this update and are not current quotes.
Disclaimer: Informational only, not legal advice.
Back to hub: DOT training buyer’s guide
If your team offers dangerous goods for air transport, use the air-specific guides:
Quick answer
Start with the employee's job duties and shipping modes, then compare the course scope, delivery format, records, and total cost. The eight providers below offer different purchasing and delivery options. Use their linked course pages to build a shortlist, then ask each provider to confirm any requirements its public listing does not answer. A lower price is not a useful comparison if the courses cover different work.
Methodology and disclosure
This is a public-information comparison, not a hands-on course review or an independent ranking. The earlier research used public course and catalog pages available on July 10, 2026. The criteria are course scope, delivery format, employer administration, recordkeeping, and price transparency. Listed features describe what the cited pages stated; they do not demonstrate instructional quality, learner outcomes, or support performance.
Evergreen Comply publishes this guide and sells one of the options listed. No competitor paid for placement. List numbers are for navigation, not quality scores. Use-case suggestions are editorial judgments based on the cited information, not evidence that a provider is the best choice for every employer.
Evidence limits: source dates vary. In particular, competitor prices labeled January 2026 are historical examples, not verified September prices. Confirm the current syllabus, price, access period, language coverage, refund terms, and record exports directly before purchasing. “Not publicly stated” means we lack evidence here, not that the feature is unavailable. No named independent expert review is claimed for this comparison.
Buyer verification worksheet
Use the same request for each shortlisted provider so you compare equivalent courses rather than marketing labels. Keep the response, source URL or document, and date with your purchasing notes.
Swipe the table sideways if more columns are off-screen.
| Decision | Evidence to request | What to record |
|---|---|---|
| Scope matches the work | Syllabus mapped to the tasks and shipping modes your employees perform | Covered tasks, exclusions, and any additional instruction needed |
| Training fits the learners | A sample lesson in each language you need and an explanation of assessment format | What you previewed, language availability, and unanswered questions |
| Records are usable | A sample certificate, training record, and demonstration of administrator retrieval | Available fields, export format, access limits, and retrieval process |
| Team purchasing fits the budget | A dated quote for your actual seat count | Total cost, included services, access period, refund terms, and quote expiry |
| Support meets your needs | Written support channels and service hours | Contact method, availability, and any response-time commitment |
An unanswered question is a follow-up item, not a zero score. For example, if two courses have different prices but only one documents the tasks your staff perform, resolve the scope difference before comparing cost. This worksheet is a purchasing aid, not a legal determination or a substitute for employer-specific training decisions.
Buying for one to five employees
Choose the course for the work performed, not just the lowest price. Compare General & Security Awareness with Advanced HAZMAT — Function-Specific, then use the course seat selector to review your team total. For Advanced HAZMAT, one seat is $189, two are $359.10, and five are $850.50 before applicable tax. Verify course scope and language availability for your learners before purchasing.
What DOT HAZMAT training typically covers (high level)
Most DOT-focused hazmat training programs map to the general areas described in the hazmat training requirements (e.g., awareness, function-specific, safety, security). The exact mix depends on job duties and mode. A common regulatory reference for hazmat training requirements is 49 CFR 172.704.
- eCFR (49 CFR 172.704): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-B/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-172/subpart-H/section-172.704
What to look for in a vendor (buyer checklist)
Records and audit readiness
- A downloadable certificate and a retrievable training record (ask how admins re-download later for audits)
- Clear naming that matches role-based training (avoid “one-size-fits-all” ambiguity)
Role clarity (awareness vs function-specific)
Some catalogs separate general awareness from function-specific training; others bundle them. Verify what’s included for your employee roles.
Delivery format and operational fit
- Self-paced online vs live webinar vs in-person
- Access window (e.g., time-limited access) if stated publicly
Team features (only if publicly stated)
If you need group administration, look for verifiable mentions of:
- Seat management or group purchasing
- Reporting/exporting completion records
- LMS/SCORM options
If not stated publicly, treat it as unknown and request a demo or written confirmation.
Vendor list (8) with strengths, tradeoffs, and citations
1) Evergreen Comply (Evergreen Comply)
- Relevant offering: DOT HAZMAT General Awareness; DOT HAZMAT Advanced / Function-Specific
- Format: Self-paced online (Evergreen Comply course pages)
- Pricing (September 6, 2026): General & Security Awareness is $109 per seat. Advanced HAZMAT is $189 per seat; two Advanced seats total $359.10 (5% off), and five total $850.50 (10% off), before applicable tax. Confirm the final total in checkout; team quote/invoice options are also available.
- Strengths: English and Spanish delivery; mobile-friendly self-paced training; seat management; regulatory crosswalk; instant certificates and three-year training records
- Tradeoffs: If you require classroom instruction, confirm alternatives before buying
- Consider for: Employers who want a modern, buyer-friendly online experience and audit-ready documentation
2) Lion Technology (Lion)
- Relevant offering: “Hazmat Ground Shipper Certification (DOT) – Initial”
- Product page with pricing and group options: https://www.lion.com/training/courses/hazmat-ground-shipper-certification-(dot)-initial
- Format: Appears to support individual seats and group training options (“Need to train a group?” + group quote links)
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): Shows “$449 - $745” and “$745 each” in the course page purchase flow
- Strengths: Clear DOT-focused catalog and job-role framing on the hazmat training hub
- Tradeoffs: Obtain a current quote and compare equivalent course scope and delivery format; the historical prices below do not establish a current price difference
- Consider for: Organizations that want a deep hazmat/dangerous goods training provider with multiple modes
3) CHEMTREC Learning Academy (CHEMTREC)
- Relevant offering: “Ground Transportation 49 CFR Training for Shippers”
- Listing + catalog: https://www.chemtrec.com/our-services/hazmat-training
- Course details (price + duration): https://secure.chemtrec.com/training/Catalog/Catalog-Details?productid=%7B93E6B29E-F082-E911-80FB-000D3A0DE1A1%7D
- Format: Online training catalog (CHEMTREC site states online hazmat training)
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): “Price: $360.00” on the catalog details page
- Course length (public): “Duration: Approximately 4.5 - 5 hours” (for that course)
- Strengths: Clear catalog-style detail pages including duration and prerequisites (where applicable)
- Tradeoffs: Some courses may list prerequisites (verify before assigning)
- Consider for: Teams that prefer a structured catalog with explicit course detail pages
4) Labelmaster (Labelmaster)
- Relevant offering: “49 CFR Online Hazmat Training” category (includes product listings)
- Format: Online training products sold via ecommerce listings
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): Listings show price ranges such as “$299.00 - $349.00” and “$339.00 - $399.00”
- Strengths: Transparent catalog pricing on listing pages; multiple hazmat-related categories visible in navigation
- Tradeoffs: Team administration features aren’t clearly described on the listing page (verify before buying for groups)
- Consider for: Buyers who want publicly listed prices and straightforward ecommerce purchase
5) Hazmat School (Hazmat School)
- Relevant offering: “DOT HM-181 Hazmat Employee Training 4 Hour Online Course”
- Format: Online course
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): “Price: US $139.00”
- Course length (public): The page title includes “4 Hour Online Course” (treat actual seat time as vendor-stated, not guaranteed)
- Strengths: A publicly listed price was available at the source date; request the current total before comparing costs
- Tradeoffs: Team features and admin reporting are not clearly described on the course page (verify for employers)
- Consider for: Individuals or small teams prioritizing published low pricing
6) DGI Training Center (DGI Training)
- Relevant offering: “.Online Ground Shipping Initial/Recurrent (49CFR) 2026”
- Format: Online course (course page)
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): “Now: $350.00”
- Time estimate (public): “Time Required: 8 to 20 hours”
- Strengths: Publishes a wide time range and price on the product page
- Tradeoffs: The same product page states “Online courses are non-refundable” (confirm terms before purchase)
- Consider for: Buyers who want a clearly priced, course-specific product page with stated time range
7) Compliance Training Online (Compliance Training Online / AdvanceOnline, a 360training company)
- Relevant offering: “DOT HAZMAT Awareness, Security & Function Specific”
- Format: Online certificate course (product page)
- Pricing (public, as of January 2026): Tiered per-student pricing (e.g., “$119.99 per student (1-3)”)
- Strengths: Transparent tiered pricing for small groups; mentions SCORM option link for business buyers
- Tradeoffs: Verify the exact “function-specific” scope and recordkeeping output on the product page or in business documentation before buying for audits
- Consider for: Buyers who want published volume pricing and a straightforward online purchase flow
8) J. J. Keller (J. J. Keller)
- Relevant offering: Hazmat training programs category
- Format: The listing page shows multiple formats (e.g., “Online Course,” “Streaming Video,” “USB + Digital Download”) in filters
- Pricing: Not publicly visible on the category page excerpt (verify on specific product pages or cart)
- Strengths: Multiple delivery formats may fit mixed operations
- Tradeoffs: Without publicly visible price on the category page, budgeting requires clicking into product pages or contacting sales
- Consider for: Teams that may need non-online delivery formats
Comparison table (reviewed July 10, 2026)
Swipe the table sideways if more columns are off-screen.
| Vendor | Format | Consider for | Published price (see source dates) | Team features (publicly stated) | Recordkeeping notes / gaps | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evergreen Comply | Self-paced online | Teams wanting English/Spanish training + records | General $109/seat; Advanced $189/seat or $850.50 for five before tax | Seat management and team quote option | Instant certificate + 3-year record | https://www.evergreencomply.com/courses/dot-hazmat |
| Lion Technology | Course purchase + group options | Specialized DG/hazmat training | Yes (range shown) | Group training options linked | Certificate implied by course context; confirm details | https://www.lion.com/training/courses/hazmat-ground-shipper-certification-(dot)-initial |
| CHEMTREC | Online catalog | Buyers wanting explicit duration/prereqs | Yes ($360 shown) | Not publicly detailed on detail page | Duration + prereq shown on course detail | https://secure.chemtrec.com/training/Catalog/Catalog-Details?productid=%7B93E6B29E-F082-E911-80FB-000D3A0DE1A1%7D |
| Labelmaster | Ecommerce online training | Buyers needing public list pricing | Yes (ranges shown) | Not publicly stated on listing page | Listing-style purchase; verify certificate details per item | https://www.labelmaster.com/shop/training/49-cfr-online-hazmat-training/ |
| Hazmat School | Online course | Individuals/small teams | Yes ($139 shown) | Not publicly stated | Verify certificate/records details on page/checkout | https://www.hazmatschool.com/dot-hm-181-hazmat-employee-1058/ |
| DGI Training | Online course | Buyers wanting price + time range | Yes ($350 shown) | Not publicly stated | Non-refundable note on product page | https://dgitraining.com/online-ground-shipping-initial-recurrent-49cfr-2026/ |
| Compliance Training Online | Online certificate course | Buyers wanting tier pricing | Yes (tiered) | “Need a SCORM version?” link (implies enterprise option) | Verify record outputs in business docs | https://www.compliancetrainingonline.com/dot-hazmat-general-awareness |
| J. J. Keller | Multi-format catalog | Teams needing non-online options | Not clearly shown on category page | Not publicly stated | Multiple formats shown as filters | https://www.jjkeller.com/products/training/hazmat-training |
Evergreen Comply positioning (DOT HAZMAT)
If you want a modern, mobile-friendly experience with fast purchasing and easy seat assignment—plus audit-ready certificates and training records—Evergreen Comply is built for that workflow:
- DOT HAZMAT General Awareness: https://www.evergreencomply.com/courses/dot-hazmat
- DOT HAZMAT Advanced / Function-Specific: https://www.evergreencomply.com/courses/advanced-hazmat
CTA: Compare your current vendor’s records/certificates against Evergreen Comply’s DOT-focused scope, then choose the simplest path to audit-ready documentation.
For air-mode buyer decisions:
- 9 Must-Have Features in HAZMAT Air (IATA DGR) Training
- HAZMAT Air IATA Training Vendors: What to Compare Before You Buy
- Who Needs HAZMAT Air IATA Training? Role-Based Employer Guide
- IATA DGR Recurrent Training: 24-Month Rule for Employers
FAQs (DOT HAZMAT)
-
What is DOT hazmat training (in plain English)?
Training intended for employees who affect the safety of hazardous materials in transportation; requirements are commonly referenced under 49 CFR 172.704.
Source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-B/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-172/subpart-H/section-172.704 -
Does “general awareness” cover everything I need?
Often, no—many programs differentiate general awareness from function-specific training. Confirm what your roles require and what the vendor includes.
Source (vendor example of categories/frequency references): https://www.lion.com/training/hazmat-training -
How often is DOT HAZMAT recurrent training required? At least once every three years under 49 CFR 172.704(c)(2). Other modes or standards may use shorter cycles. Source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/part-172/section-172.704
-
Is published “course length” the same as seat time?
Not always. Vendor time estimates can be ranges and vary by learner.
Source (example of a published range): https://dgitraining.com/online-ground-shipping-initial-recurrent-49cfr-2026/ -
What proof should I expect after completion?
Typically a certificate and a training record, but details vary. Verify what is downloadable and how long it’s retrievable.
Source (certificate mention example): https://secure.chemtrec.com/training/Catalog/Catalog-Details?productid=%7B93E6B29E-F082-E911-80FB-000D3A0DE1A1%7D -
Should I choose self-paced online or live training?
Self-paced online scales well; live training can help with Q&A. Choose what fits your operations and recordkeeping needs. -
Do I need team administration features (seat assignment, reporting)?
If you’re training more than a handful of employees, admin workflow matters. If not publicly stated, request a demo or written confirmation. -
What if a vendor doesn’t list pricing publicly?
Treat it as “contact for quote,” and compare total cost (including admin time) once you get a proposal. -
Are refunds standard for online hazmat training?
Refund policies vary; some vendors explicitly state online courses may be non-refundable.
Source (example): https://dgitraining.com/online-ground-shipping-initial-recurrent-49cfr-2026/ -
What’s the safest way to compare vendors quickly?
Build a short checklist (format, price transparency, record outputs, admin workflow) and only compare what you can verify publicly.